top of page

Still Working on the Bluetooth N64 Controllers


If you've seen one of my latest videos, I had a breadboarded prototype of a Bluetooth N64 Controller. I just wanted to post an update that I still haven't given up on this project and it is still underway. The image above is a sneak peek at the board I have laid out to fit inside of the N64 Controller to take place of the original controller PCBs.

The biggest hurdle right now is the financing/building of tools to reflow solder. I have recently purchased a T-962 reflow oven, a product notorious for having dismal SW. Luckily some really smart people have already developed replacement firmware that apparently performs much better, so I am hoping to give this a shot.

The boards themselves are not of small expense. The boards are large, so I had to purchase the EAGLE Hobbyist license to lay out the larger PCB. Not to mention fabricating the boards will be pricey as well.

For my YouTube videos, the plan is to make a complete video on modding the T-962. There are several mods scattered in articles on the web, and videos currently on YouTube regarding the T-962 only demonstrate the oven itself. My hope is to make a video that shows how to make many of the current mods on the web today, so everything is consolidated into an easy-to-digest video.


bottom of page